On Friday, 11 January 2013 the then Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia, Her Excellency Quentin Bryce, appointed six Commissioners for the Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse.

The Hon. Justice Peter McClellan AM

Chair of the Royal Commission and Judge of Appeal in New South Wales

Justice Jennifer Coate

Judge of the Family Court of Australia

Commissioner Bob Atkinson AO APM

Former Queensland Police Service Commissioner

Commissioner Robert Fitzgerald AM

Productivity Commissioner

Commissioner Helen Milroy

Consultant Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist

Commissioner Andrew Murray

Former Senator for Western Australia